The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker

Availability: In stock

Follow Clara on a magical Christmas adventure in this retelling of the classic ballet story with music!

Well … you know the story. Clara gets a handsome nutcracker from her godfather at the family’s Christmas party. She falls asleep with it and wakes up in a world of giant mice, a growing Christmas tree, fairies and more. Not your average dream.

Vibrant illustrations accompany this classic story that invites young readers to press a musical note on each page to hear a bit of Tchaikovsky's music.  Ten music selections, including: The Dance of the Reed Flutes, The Waltz of Flowers and The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy.

Read the story as you listen to accompanying music, then turn to the back of the book to find out more about Tchaikovsky, glossary of musical terms and orchestral information.


  • Hardcover
  • 24 pages
  • ISBN-13: 978-1786030689
  • Dimensions: 10.8” x 0.6” x 12.2”


  • 3 & up

This book teaches, encourages & supports:

  • Physical Development
  • Cognitive Learning
  • Language & Communication

Specific Benefits:

  • Instills a love of reading
  • Teaches music appreciation
  • Encourages interactive fun & learning
  • Inspires theatrical creativity

About the Author & Illustrator:

KATY FLINT is a children's book author and editor, based in London. She is the author of the best-selling sound book The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker, and has worked on many other non-fiction titles – from human bodies to dinosaurs. She likes playing the violin and dog-spotting. 

JESSICA COURTNEY-TICKLE is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favourite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theatre from music makers to dancers and even singing animals. Jessica is most influenced by vintage picture books, travel posters and folk art as well as numerous painters and printmakers.

0 stars based on 0 reviews